Jerónimo Pizarro

Jerónimo Pizarro is Professor at the Universidad de los Andes and holds the Camões Institute Chair of Portuguese Studies in Colombia. He has a PhD in Hispanic Literatures (2008, Harvard University) and a PhD in Portuguese Linguistics (2006, Universidade de Lisboa). He contributed seven volumes to the critical edition of Fernando Pessoa’s Works, published by the INCM, the last volume being the first critical edition of the Livro do Desasocego [Book of Disquiet]. Together with Steffen Dix, he organized Portuguese Modernisms in Literature and the Visual Arts, which was published by Legenda in 2011. They also co-edited a special issue of Portuguese Studies (2008) and a book of essays, A Arca de Pessoa [Pessoa’s Trunk] (2007). Pizarro was the Editor-in-Chief of two new Ática’s series (1. Fernando Pessoa | Works; 2. Fernando Pessoa | Studies), and he contributed with more than ten volumes. Currently he is in charge of Tintada-China’s “Colecção Pessoa”. In 2013 he was the Program Director of Portugal’s visit to the International Book Fair of Bogotá and he won the Eduardo Lourenço Prize.

The Complete Works of Alberto Caeiro

Poetry by Fernando Pessoa

Translated from the Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa Patricio Ferrari

Edited by Jerónimo Pizarro Patricio Ferrari

Here, in Margaret Jull Costa and Patricio Ferrari’s splendid new translations, are the complete poems of Alberto Caeiro, the imaginary master of the “heteronym” coterie created by the Portuguese modernist Fernando Pessoa. Pessoa conceived Caeiro around 1914 and may have named him loosely after his friend, the poet Mário de Sá-Carneiro. What followed was a collection of some of Fernando Pessoa’s greatest poems, grouped under the titles The Keeper of Sheep, The Shepherd in Love, and Uncollected Poems.…
More Information

The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition

Fiction by Fernando Pessoa

Translated from the Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa

Edited by Jerónimo Pizarro

The Book of Disquiet is the Portuguese modernist master Fernando Pessoa’s greatest literary achievement. An “autobiography” or “diary” containing exquisite melancholy observations, aphorisms, and ruminations, this classic work grapples with all the eternal questions. Now, for the first time the texts are presented chronologically, in a complete English edition by master translator Margaret Jull Costa. Most of the texts in The Book of Disquiet are written under the semi-heteronym Bernardo Soares, an assistant bookkeeper.…
More Information

The Complete Works of Álvaro de Campos

Poetry by Fernando Pessoa

Translated from the Portuguese by Patricio Ferrari Margaret Jull Costa

With a contribution by Antonio Cardiello Jerónimo Pizarro

Cover design by Peter Mendelsund

Álvaro de Campos is one of the most influential heteronyms created by Portugal’s great modernist writer Fernando Pessoa. According to Pessoa, Campos was born in Tavira (Algarve) in 1890 and studied mechanical engineering in Glasgow, although he never managed to complete his degree. In his own day, Campos was celebrated—and slandered—for his vociferous poetry imbued with a Whitman-inspired free verse, his praise of the rise of technology, and his polemical views that appeared in manifestos, interviews, and essays.…
More Information
< Jordan A. Y. Smith Marcel Proust >