“Elegantly poetic prose… Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages.”

Kirkus

Available May 1, 1994

The Illustrious House of Ramires

Fiction by José Maria de Eça de Queirós

Translated by Ann Stevens

Your Independent Bookstore Barnes & Noble

Paperback (published May 1, 1994)

ISBN
9780811212649
Price US
18.95
Trim Size
5x8
Page Count
320

José Maria de Eça de Queirós

19th century Portuguese diplomat and writer

More by this author

“Elegantly poetic prose… Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages.”

Kirkus

José Maria de Eça de Queirós, where have you been all my life?

—Lorin Stein, The Paris Review

He is far greater than my own dear master, Flaubert.

—Zola