A strange and arresting novel. Aira is firmly in the tradition of Borges and W.G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas.

—Mark Doty, Los Angeles Times

An astounding novel from Argentina that is a meditation on the beautiful and the grotesque in nature, the art of landscape painting, and one experience in a man’s life that became a lightning rod for inspiration.

An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter

Fiction by César Aira

Translated from the Spanish by Chris Andrews

With a contribution by Roberto Bolaño

Your Independent Bookstore Barnes & Noble

Paperback (published May 1, 2006)

ISBN
9780811216302
Price US
12.95
Price CN
15
Trim Size
5x7
Page Count
96

Ebook (published May 1, 2006)

ISBN
9780811219808
Price US
12.95

César Aira

Argentine author

A strange and arresting novel. Aira is firmly in the tradition of Borges and W.G. Sebald, those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas.

—Mark Doty, Los Angeles Times

What makes Episode so astonishing is the language as translated from the Spanish by Chris Andrews. Not from Aira do we get the Borges soft shoe. We get instead a supercharged Céline, writing with a Star Wars laser sword, turning Don Quixote into Picasso.

—John Leonard, Harper’s

An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter’s mere 87 pages are so multi-faceted and transporting and I get so absorbed that upon finishing I don’t remember anything. Like having a complex cinematic dream that dissipates upon awakening.

—Patti Smith, The New York Times Book Review