Felisberto, I will always love you!
—Julio Cortázar

Piano Stories

by Felisberto Hernández

Translated from the Spanish by Luis Harss

With a contribution by Francine Prose

Piano Stories presents fifteen wonderful works by the great Uruguayan author Felisberto Hernández, “a writer like no other,” as Italo Calvino declares in his introduction: “like no European or Latin American. He is an ‘irregular,’ who eludes all classifications and labelings — yet he is unmistakable on any page to which one might randomly open one of his books.” Piano Stories contains classic tales such as “The Daisy Dolls,” “The Usher,” and “The Flooded House.”

Buy from:

Paperback (published January 27, 2014)

Price US
Page Count

Ebook (published January 27, 2014)

Price US
Felisberto, I will always love you!
—Julio Cortázar
The voice is unlike anything one has come across anywhere in literature – in touch with profound chambers of the mind.
The Nation
Poetry that transforms the ordinary into the uncanny.
Excellent…miraculously alive…wonderful.
The New York Times Book Review
A loopier, vegetarian Kafka, inhabiting his mazy personal baroque.
—Michael Hofmann, The London Times Literary Supplement
A vision of such startling beauty that it flares up like an old-fashioned phosphorous match and illuminates our whole lives.
—Francine Prose
If I hadn’t read the stories of Felisberto Hernández in 1950, I wouldn’t be the writer I am today.
—Gabriel García Marquez