The Berlin Stories

Fiction by Christopher Isherwood

With a contribution by Armistead Maupin

The Berlin Stories is a book comprising two short novels by Christopher Isherwood: Goodbye to Berlin and The Last of Mr. Norris. The two novellas are set in Berlin in 1931, just as Adolf Hitler was moving into power. Berlin is portrayed by Isherwood during this transitional period of cafes and quaint avenues, grotesque nightlife and dreamers, and powerful mobs and millionaires. Sally Bowles is the protagonist who experiences her share of misadventures along with Mr.…
More Information
< Michael Dirda Gregory Mosher >