VERSeFest 2021: Sylvia Legris

Nov, 18 2021

VERSeFest 2021: Sylvia Legris
Related: Sylvia Legris

Join us online for Plan 99’s event, featuring readings from:


Donna Kane is a writer living in Rolla, BC. Her poems, short fiction, reviews and essays have been published widely. She is the author of the non-fiction book, Summer of the Horse, and of three books of poetry, most recently Orrery, a finalist for the 2020 Governor General’s Literary Award. Poems from Orrery were also featured in A Sky Full of Poems with Dava Sobel presented by Hampton’s Observatory and Guild Hall, in Voyages to Mars: Dreaming, a podcast for the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, and a poem from the collection was selected for Vancouver’s 2021 Poetry in Transit program. In 2020 she received the British Columbia Medal of Good Citizenship for her “exceptional dedication to discover community potential and empower ownership through arts and culture.”


Michael Prior is a writer and teacher. His most recent book of poems, Burning Province (McClelland & Stewart/Penguin Random House, 2020), won the Canada-Japan Literary Award, and the BC & Yukon Book Prizes’ Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize. Burning Province is described as acerbic, moving, and formally astonishing, Michael Prior’s second collection explores the enduring impact of the Japanese internment upon his family legacy and his mixed-race identity. He is also the author of Model Disciple (Véhicule Press, 2016), which was named one of the best books of the year by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Michael is the recipient of fellowships from the New York Public Library’s Cullman Center, the Jerome Foundation, and Hawthornden Literary Retreat. His poems have appeared in magazines and anthologies across North America and the UK, including Poetry, The New Republic, Narrative Magazine, Sewanee Review, The Margins, PN Review, Ambit, Global Poetry Anthology (2015 and 2020), and the Academy of American Poets’ Poem-A-Day series.


Michaël Trahan est écrivain et professeur de littérature à l’Université Laval. Au Quartanier, il a fait paraître Vie nouvelle (2020), La raison des fleurs (2017, Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général, catégorie poésie) et Nœud coulant (2013, prix Émile-Nelligan, Prix du Festival de la poésie de Montréal et prix Alain-Grandbois de l’Académie des lettres du Québec). Il est aussi l’auteur d’un essai sur la réception de Sade, La postérité du scandale (Nota bene, 2017), et d’une thèse de doctorat sur la lisibilité de la littérature dans le champ poétique français contemporain.


Sylvia Legris’ latest poetry collection is Garden Physic, just published by New Directions; Granta Books will publish a UK edition of this collection in April 2022. Her other titles include The Hideous Hidden, Pneumatic Antiphonal, and Nerve Squall, winner in 2006 of both the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Pat Lowther Award. Among her other awards are the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Prize for Literary Excellence (2018), the Lieutenant Governor’s Saskatchewan Artist Award (2014), and the Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award (2012). In 2019, she was one of two featured artists in the international journal Music & Literature (No. 9). New poems are forthcoming in Chicago Review, A Public Space, and New American Writing.

Please register here.