Weiss remains among the most important postwar German authors no one’s read.
Slate

This fast-moving, tightly-wound, and gleefully dark novella contains an entire universe in miniature

Available April 5, 2022

The Conversation of the Three Wayfarers

Fiction by Peter Weiss

Translated by E.B. Garside

With a contribution by John Keene

The Conversation of the Three Wayfarers is a tale overheard, rather than told directly. Abel, Babel, and Cabel, the wayfarers, carry on a three-sided monologue, each reporting curious incidents—the effect is of three capers rolled into one: a steeplechase performed on a floating pontoon. But are they really three distinct individuals? Why do their lives blend in such a fantastic manner?

Weiss’s strikingly original prose has an impossibly contained quality, with each sentence doing a perfect double-double backflip before neatly landing. This essential rediscovered work, from the masterful and acclaimed German modernist Peter Weiss, will be a delightful discovery for readers of Kafka, Musil, and Gombrowicz.

Buy from:

Paperback (published April 5, 2022)

ISBN
9780811231633
Price US
12.95
Trim Size
4.5x7.25
Page Count
80

Ebook

ISBN
9780811231640
Weiss remains among the most important postwar German authors no one’s read.
Slate
Peter Weiss embarks on his literary work and enters purgatory. All his work is designed as a visit to the dead.
—W. G. Sebald
Staggering ambition! Extraordinary richness.
—Susan Sontag