Skip to content
cover image for

The twenty-nine stories in Clarice Lispector’s Soulstorm were originally published in two separate volumes in 1974––The Stations of the Body and Where You Were at Night––and are now combined for the first time and sensitively translated into English by Alexis Levitin. The realm of Lispector’s fiction is the inner life; self-knowledge is her main concern. Like James Joyce’s Dubliners, her characters live small stifled lives, often unaware of their own suffering, but her lucid and richly textured narratives allow us, the readers, the epiphanies that they themselves are denied.


Poetry by Clarice Lispector

published June 1st, 1989