Skip to content

A hundred times worth reading.

Penelope Jardine

Keith Ridgway

Contemporary Irish writer

Keith Ridgway is a Dubliner and the author of the novels The Long Falling, The Parts and Animals, as well as the collection of stories Standard Time and the novella Horses. His books have won awards and acclaim in Ireland and internationally and are translated widely. He lived in North London for eleven years but now lives in Dublin. New Directions published his latest novel—Hawthorn & Child—in September 2013.

Never Love a Gambler

Fiction by Keith Ridgway

Never Love a Gambler is a showcase for the exceptional talents of Keith Ridgway. The Times (London) praised his stories as “flawlessly structured yarns told in lovingly crafted prose.” Ridgway’s characters negotiate their way through love, madness, lust, anger, religious obsession, crime, and absence in stories told with innovative mastery and brightened by fiercely vivid dialogues. Never Love a Gambler is a mental rust-remover: refreshing, bracing, and often violently funny. 

Hawthorn & Child

Fiction by Keith Ridgway

Hawthorn & Child are mid-ranking detectives tasked with finding significance in the scattered facts. They appear and disappear in the fragments of this book along with a ghost car, a crime boss, a pick-pocket, a dead racing driver and a pack of wolves. The mysteries are everywhere, but the biggest of all is our mysterious compulsion to solve them.

Read an excerpt of Hawthorn & Child published by Granta Books.